Clickable AggieBuy logo image.
Clickable AggieShip logo image.
Clickable AggieTravel logo image.
Clickable AggieSurplus logo image.
AggieSupply logo image.
Clickable icon to contact staff.

Restricted Travel Law

rainbow flag photographed in a window

On September 27, 2016, Governor Brown signed into law AB 1887 (Low).

Effective January 1, 2017, this law prohibits state-funded travel to any states that have enacted a law that voids or repeals any existing state or local protections against discrimination based on sexual orientation, gender identity, and gender expression or have the enacted laws that have the effect of voiding or repealing any of these protections. In addition, UC cannot require employees to travel to these states, regardless of funding source. Therefore, there can be no repercussions if an employee declines to travel to any state that is on the Attorney General’s list of states where state-funded travel is prohibited.

The State Attorney General is directed to develop, maintain, and post online the current list of states where travel restrictions would apply. 

Alternative funding sources should be located for travel planned after January 1, 2017, that has already been committed.

Complete information is available at their website:

The CA Attorney General office has published the list of states which are subject to AB 1887’s travel prohibitions, they are as follows as follows:

Effective Date
Alabama June 23, 2017
Kansas January 1, 2017
Kentucky June 23, 2017
Mississippi January 1, 2017
North Carolina January 1, 2017
Oklahoma June 22, 2018
South Dakota June 23, 2017
Tennessee January 1, 2017
Texas  June 23, 2017

Frequently Asked Questions (PDF)


Updated October 2, 2018